Palm Springs Government.

The City of Palm Springs is a charter city, with a charter adopted by the voters in 1994. It consists of a Council-Manager government, with a five-person city council that hires a city manager and city attorney.

The mayor is directly elected and serves a four-year term. The other four council members also serve four-year terms, with staggered elections.
The City is considered a full-service city, in that it staffs and manages its own police and fire departments including a jail, parks and recreation programs, public library, sewer system and wastewater treatment plant, international airport, and planning and building services.

The city council also serves as the Community Redevelopment Agency, the Housing Authority, and the Financing Authority.
The current mayor is Steve Pougnet, but the best-known mayor in the city's history was Sonny Bono.
© 2010 All Rights Reserved. Site Map | Contact